Questions and Answers concerning Motor Carriers
The following are common questions from the motoring public about Florida's Motor Carrier operations along with associated answers to these questions.
- Are rental trucks required to enter weigh stations? What if I'm pulling a rental trailer with my personal vehicle?
Yes, all commercial trucks traveling along state maintained highways are expected to stop at every Weigh Station and Agricultural Inspection Station along the way to their destination. If you're pulling a rental trailer with your personal vehicle, the combined weight of your personal vehicle and the commercial rental trailer can not exceed 10,000lbs, if so, you would be expected to enter the scale facilities in Florida.
- Where can I find employment information about working at a weigh station?
Vacancies with the Department, such as a Weigh Station Inspector, can be found through the State of Florida’s People First employment system. You can search by location, occupation and the salary is disclosed in most cases: https://peoplefirst.myflorida.com/
- I am a state employee, I will be traveling around the state in a state owned international truck, with a state tag picking up records from offices that are closing, Am I required to stop at every Weigh Station?
- Are Weigh Stations open on the weekend?
Yes, they’re open 24/7.
- I am a common carrier of household goods and other items. I sometimes travel over state lines. Between my vehicle and my trailer (fully loaded) I never exceed 10,000lbs. Do I still require a Motor Carrier Number?
The Florida Highway Patrol issues and enforces Motor Carrier numbers in Florida. Here is the link to their website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/fhp/OMCC/
- I have a question regarding tandem recreational towing: I have a Toyota Tundra and a 21.5 ft travel trailer. I would like to tow my golf cart behind the travel trailer on a small utility trailer. I would like to know the maximum vehicle length also.
Florida Statute 316.515 (3) covers the number of trailers and length of trailers allowed in Florida. This section allows commercial vehicles to have two trailing units but non-commercial units can have only one trailing unit. Your pickup truck pulling your travel trailer and golf cart trailer would be illegal:
(3) LENGTH LIMITATION.-Except as otherwise provided in this section, length limitations apply solely to a semitrailer or trailer, and not to a truck tractor or to the overall length of a combination of vehicles. No combination of commercial motor vehicles coupled together and operating on the public roads may consist of more than one truck tractor and two trailing units. Unless otherwise specifically provided for in this section, a combination of vehicles not qualifying as commercial motor vehicles may consist of no more than two units
coupled together; such non-qualifying combination of vehicles may not exceed a total length of 65 feet, inclusive of the load carried thereon, but exclusive of safety and energy conservation devices approved by the department for use on vehicles using public roads.
- Are there pay phones at the comfort/inspection barns or in the weigh stations?
The local phone company will provide, maintain and receive all profits. The phone companies will not support any pay phone that does not have a monthly average intake of at least $35.00 unless phone is mandated by law or State Fire Marshall and building code. Then, if not enough funds are collected the owner of establishment is charged the minimum amount required. Therefore we have pay phones at some locations and others we do not.
- Where can I obtain an oversize permit?
The Permit Office in Tallahassee, with the assistance of the Office of Maintenance, is responsible for overweight and overdimensional permits. Please contact: Florida Permit Office – (850) 410-5777 or visit their website: http://www.fdotmaint.com/permit/
- 9. What are the rules for overweight and overdimensional permits?
The Permit Office in Tallahassee, with the assistance of the Office of Maintenance, is responsible for overweight and overdimensional permitting rules. Please contact: Florida Permit Office – (850) 410-5777 or visit their website: http://www.fdotmaint.com/permit/
- Where can I find information about transporting hazardous materials?
You may contact the Florida Highway Patrol: http://www.flhsmv.gov/fhp/OMCC/ or the Pipeline and Hazardous Material Safety Administration (PHMSA): http://phmsa.dot.gov/home for information on transporting hazardous material.
- How do I pay a citation that I received at the weigh station?
Visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website: https://www.fhpcvepayments.com/login.asp and enter your Citation Number and/or USDOT Number.
- Where can I find information on Commercial Driver's Licenses (CDL) requirements?
Visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/.
- What is the legal height in Florida?
Please refer to Florida Statute 316.515: http://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2012/316.515 for the height requirements.
- Where can I find information on escort training in Florida?
Escort Training information can be found at the following website: Florida Transportation Technology Transfer Center.
- How do I obtain an IRP/Fuel Trip Permit?
To obtain an IRP/Fuel Trip Permit please dial: 1-800-749-6058.
Some documents within this website are pdf files and must be viewed with: Adobe Acrobat Reader .
Submit a question or comment concerning this website by clicking here.