EMERGENCY INFORMATION FDOT Emergency Travel Alert: For information on the current situation, please visit the following page - Alerts.

Systems Planning Office

Systems Planning / Programs & Services / Interchange Access Request

Interchange Access Request

Picture of a Florida Roadway



The purpose of an Interchange Access Request (IAR) is to demonstrate the project is needed and is viable based on traffic, engineering, financial and other criteria. To ensure access decisions are properly administered, both Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) have adopted policies regarding IARs



FHWA: Interstate System Access Information Guide
FDOT Policy: Approval of New or Modified Access to Limited Access Highways on the Strategic Intermodal System (SIS)

FDOT Procedure: New or Modified interchanges (under revision)

2013 Interchange Access Request Users Guide
The Interchange Handbook provides guidance on the state and federal requirements and process to be used by all requestors proposing a new or modified interchange to any limited-access facility on the SHS.

A Frequently Asked Questions page provides answers to concerns not addressed in these documents.

(Note: This document is provided in PDF format and can be viewed with the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is available from Adobe at no charge. Viewers can also convert PDF files to HTML format through the Adobe website. A new browser window will open when you access these external links.)

2014 Traffic Analysis Handbook - A Reference for Planning and Operations
The Traffic Analysis Handbook guides the reviewer of traffic analysis reports to the items that need to be checked and verified before accepting the work performed by the analyst.

Interchange Review Coordinator (IRC) Contacts


Each District and the Turnpike Enterprise has established an Interchange Review Coordinator (IRC). The IRC is the primary point of contact for all Requesters, both inside and outside the Department, requesting new or modified interchanges on existing SIS limited access facilities within their Districts.


District Counties Contact
1 Charlotte, Collier, De Soto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, and Sarasota Lawrence Massey
2 Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, and Union Stephen Browning
3 Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington Scott Golden
4 Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie Steve Braun
5 Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Jason Learned
6 Miami-Dade and Monroe Ken Jeffries
7 Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, and Pinellas Waddah Farah
Turnpike Florida's Turnpike Barbara Davis

News & Updates


Forms and Templates


For further information contact Martha Hodgson or phone (850) 414-4804

Back To Top