Follow these steps to delete a signatory from PEDDS

  1. Please note that when deleting a signatory, any files signed and sealed by the signatory will need to be re-signed and sealed by another signatory, if those files need to be signed and sealed.
  2. Open up the project in PEDDS (instructions here).
  3. Switch to the signatory who will be deleted (instructions here).
  4. Click the "Delete Signatory" toolbar button or select "Delete" from the "Signatory" menu.
  5. Delete Signatory Toolbar Button

    Delete Signatory Toolbar Button

    Delete Signatory Menu

    Delete Signatory Menu Item

  6. A dialog will open asking if the signatory is really supposed to be deleted. Click "Yes" or "No".
  7. Delete Signatory Warning Dialog

    Delete Signatory Warning Dialog

  8. If the "Yes" button is clicked, a confirmation dialog will appear stating that the signatory has been deleted.
  9. Delete Signatory Confirmation Dialog

    Delete Signatory Confirmation Dialog

  10. Deleting a Signatory can be reversed.

Restoring a deleted signatory

  1. Exit PEDDS.
  2. Using windows explorer, or a similar utility, navigate to the "_meta_info" folder of the project containing the deleted signatory that you want to restore.
  3. The signatory you just deleted will have a filename ending in ".xml.DELETE".  
  4. Deleted Signature Filenames

    Deleted Signature Filenames

  5. Rename the file from "*.xml.DELETE" to "*.xml".
  6. When PEDDS is restarted and the project is re-opened, the signatory will be restored to the project/delivery and their signatures on any files will be restored.

Follow these steps to delete a signatory PERMANENTLY

  1. Follow the steps above to delete a Signatory from PEDDS.
  2. Select "Signatory->Manage Signatories->Remove Signatory.DELETE Files" from the main menu.
  3. Permanently Delete Signatories Menu Item

    Permanently Delete Signatories Menu Item

  4. A dialog will appear listing the signatory files to be permanently deleted and will confirm that the user wants to permanently delete the displayed signatories.
  5. Permanently Delete Signatories Warning Dialog

    Permanently Delete Signatories Warning Dialog

  6. If "Yes" is selected, the files will be deleted permanently. That is, they won't be recoverable in the Windows recycle bin. Therefore, permanently deleting signatories should only be performed by the Project Manager or a person with similar authority.

Go Back to the First Page